New Sinead O’Connor Album

I’m excited for the release of the new Sinead O’Connor album on August 12th.  It is called I’m Not Bossy, I’m the Boss.  Above is the single that is out for the album now.  Her last album, How About I Be Me (And You Be You)?, is one of my favorite albums of the last few years.  If her new one comes anywhere close to it I’ll be happy.  She is an absolutely fearless artist.  Although that fearlessness has occasionally lead to a spotty recording career, as she has not always found the right production for her songs while exploring many different genres, when she is at her best she is transcendent.  I’ll never quit saying she was right about the Catholic sex abuse scandal, before anyone wanted to hear about it, and was vilified for speaking this truth.  Although personally and commercially she suffered, she has never quit speaking truth to power.  I’m eternally glad that she is out there.  

If you are biased against her, but willing to give her a new look, or don’t know anything about her, try her How About I Be Me (And You Be You)? album .  Her Gospel Oak E.P. is also extremely good.   I know many people prefer her earlier work, but I feel that it is hit or miss, as I said before, because of some of the production choices.  There are songs I love on all of her records, but those two works that I mentioned above, are the ones that I listen to the most.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

