Random Thoughts From a Lazy Monday

I meant to get to posting today, but I picked up my telecaster and the day faded away into oblivion.  I’m still a little upside down from touring.  Being on tour is like living in dog years, at least while you are on it.  The first gig seems a million years from the last one, until you get home and nothing has changed and you feel like you weren’t gone at all.  It’s bizarre to say the least.  

I just saw the news about Robin Williams.  If I’m being honest I was never a fan, though I’m not saying he wasn’t talented.  He was very talented of course and there were a couple movies he was in that I liked.  But that kind of personality that is always performing when in public, grates on me after awhile.  I tend to lean towards the, if you don’t have anything meaningful to say, then don’t talk persuasion.  There is a time to draw attention to yourself and a time not to.  However, it seems like many people that are always on, or that brag constantly, are doing it to draw attention to themselves to fill some kind of hole, or to hide some kind of deeper anxiety or pain.  I’m just generalizing, but it seems the case more than not.  Again this just shows that people are deep mysteries that we will never solve.  

I mentioned a couple posts ago that I was checking out The Cribs album with Johnny Marr on it.  I have also checked out their latest release.  How did I overlook them for so long?  They are a great rock n roll band.  If you like rock music with a British edge to it, then they are definitely a band to check out.  I haven’t gone any deeper into their catalogue yet, but the guitar playing on Ignore the Ignorance, with Johnny Marr, and In the Belly of the Brazen Bull, without him, is fantastic.  They also write great melodies and as a band play exceptionally together, which being a band of brothers you would expect.  Although I still think their lyrics fall under good but not great, they really are an exciting band that is worth checking out.  (By good and not great, I mean that they are not Lou Reed, Leonard Cohen, Morrissey, or someone of their poetic talents, but that they still write with personality and have something to say.)  They are the full package.  

The new Sinead O’Connor album comes out tomorrow.  I am extremely excited about it, because her last album, How About I Be Me (And You Be You)?, is one of my favorite albums of the last few years.  If this one comes even close I’ll be delighted.  

Apple updated Garage Band and I don’t like the new version as much as the old.  Maybe I’m just stubborn to learn something new, but there doesn’t seem to be as many effects that you can use unless you buy a fuller version.  If someone knows something about this, and I’m wrong, please let me know.  

At last, at the top I have posted the video for Electronic’s Forbidden City.  This was a highly overlooked album in the 90’s that always boosted my spirits.  

Anyway, that’s all for today.  

In the future when all’s well…

Jeff  

 

 

Leave a Reply

