Dark Mountains, Optimism, and Pessimism

optimism

The following is from an interview in 1984:  

Interviewer:  Are you a pessimist or an optimist?

Morrissey:  I think I’m an optimist, because I am here and I’m doing this.  If I was a total pessimist I would have never have bothered.  I would have just, you know, stayed in bed, and didn’t bother to do anything.  So I think I’m an optimist.  

Anyone that knows Morrissey’s work would know that he often deals in dark themes and human failings.  Flannery O’Connor once said that, “If a writer writes about dirt it is because they despise dirt, not because they love it.”  

I’m sometimes told that I dwell in the dark too much.  However, I too would consider myself an optimist.  I believe the world can be a better place.  In order to get to that place though you must realize what you are dealing with and tackle it head on as best you can.  You must attempt to look for the truth even if that leads you down dark alleys at times.  There is a great deal of joy and beauty in the world, but there should be more of it.  It is those dark mountains we must climb and conquer.  

One thought on “Dark Mountains, Optimism, and Pessimism

  1. Great insight…very true. To recognize the reality of certain situations sometimes we have to venture to dark places. Also love that quote you included: “If a writer writes about dirt it is because they despise dirt, not because they love it.”

Leave a Reply

