Touring and Struggle

A great deal of the time I spend on the road I am miserable.  I am an introvert by nature, and being around people, on other people’s schedule all day, wears me out.  However, I view happiness as being overrated.  I’m not complaining despite what it may sound like in the first few sentences.  I have gone on every tour I have been asked to and will continue to do so.  Whenever I look back on a tour I am glad that I went.  I feel that I have expanded my horizons and accomplished something.  I have met new people, and seen new places, and at the very least provided people with a few hours of escape from the daily grind.

Life is often suffering and struggle.  Despite the pretty pictures that lie, has climbing a mountain ever been easy? Yet, except for maybe the few and the dead, I bet anyone that has climbed one is glad that they did.

We are surrounded by images in modern society that tell us how happy we’re going to be if we only do a certain thing.  Buy this deodorant, get laid, finally be happy.  Go get a McDowell burger, be satiated, finally be happy.  Buy a fancy car, impress your friends, finally be happy.  Although many of these things may bring about happiness, it is only in a transient sense.  Pretty soon you are stuck with yourself and right back to the problems you faced.

Love and friendship and being kind to people and doing good deeds and creating things that last and taking chances and experiencing life:  These are the only kinds of things that will bring fulfillment.  Anyone that tells you different is selling you snake oil.

I know like I sound like I am giving advice.  Christ, for some reason that bothers me.  Go out and find out for yourself.  Don’t take my word for it.  Some things you can only figure out for yourself.

Leave a Reply

