The Misfits Halloween

In honor of October and the approaching holiday, I thought I would post this song from the Misfits, one of my favorite punk bands.  A great deal of The Misfits work sounds like it was recorded in a trash can.  However, I view this as actually adding properly to the atmosphere of their work as their lyrics often deal with B-horror movie themes.  Their recordings also have never dated because of this.  A great deal of the time, although there are exceptions like U2’s Achtung Baby, music that is recorded with the latest technology dates the fastest.  Meanwhile, music that sounds primitive often never dates.  I am talking strictly from a recording perspective.  The Misfits were always one of the best punk bands to me because they had a singer with a truly great voice in Glenn Danzig.  The music could be very aggressive at times, but sometimes, although he could scream with the best of them, he would croon, which created a great juxtaposition.  They are one of the bands I listened to as a teenager that has never gone out of rotation in my record collection.

Leave a Reply

