Colbert Final Sing-along

I finally got around to watching the final episode of The Colbert Report.  There is probably no show I have watched more often since the show began.  While my brother and I lived together it was almost a tradition to watch it through the web as we ate dinner.  During often dark political times, it was always a breath of fresh air that kept you laughing as insanity seemed around every corner.  It often did what the American media so often does not:  It exposed the truth.  It did this while being extremely funny.  On of my favorite quotes is Oscar Wilde’s, “If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they’ll kill you.”  That was Colbert’s trick in a nutshell.

I found myself getting surprisingly emotional at the above final sing-along on the the final show.  Again, Colbert was something that I enjoyed along with my brother.  I just took him to the airport today to fly back to Pennsylvania.

I’m sure that Colbert’s new show will be a success.  He is one of the most brilliant comedians around.  I hope there is at least some political element to what he does next.  There are so very few people in this country inhabiting the mainstream that can enlighten while they entertain.  It was a good run…

Leave a Reply

