Make it Shiny

Shinyribs

Make it Shiny

Above is a profile of Shinyribs band leader Kevin “Shinyribs” Russell in Texas Highways Magazine.  I play bass with this project.    I can neither confirm or deny any pertinent information in the above article.  The owls are watching.  For those of you that are interested, this article will give you some idea as where a good deal of the Shinyribs sound comes from.  It’s definitely music that has a regional flavor, although that being said it is extremely varied and largely accessible.

Kev has kept me gainfully employed these last several years for which I am grateful for.  Just in this last year I got to record with Shawn Sahm and the family of Ted Hawkins.  I also got to sing on stage with Eric Burdon, Ian McLagan, among others.  None of these things would have happened for me if Kev hadn’t decided a couple of years ago to work with me.  Hell, one of the only reasons I can work on this blog as much as I do is that it fits in nicely with a musicians schedule.

I should mention that we will be playing the State Theater in Austin, Texas on New Years Eve.  If you are in the area get tickets soon as they are going fast.

Leave a Reply

