The Night of a Thousand Tuesdays

This is actually lyrics to a new song that I just demoed, that I hope to bring out live shortly.  I was joking with my brother about how, once you were an adult and worked a shitty soul-deadening job, nothing that you were scared of as a kid frightens you anymore.  When you were sitting in an office or wherever, doing busywork, you would gladly have werewolf come busting through the front door dismembering people, even if you had to meet your end too.  A theory of mine is that the reason shows about the zombie apocalypse are so popular, is that so many people that work these terrible jobs actually secretly dream of it happening.  At least in the zombie apocalypse you can survive on your wits and get whatever you want in the store.  As I was joking with my brother he said, “The Night of a Thousand Tuesdays”.  Tuesday was always that day at work that you felt most defeated.  Even on Monday you still had a little of that spring in your step from the weekend.  That title, as we joked, was our fake idea for the adult horror movie that we were going to create.  I thought that would make a great song title at least.  Thanks brother!  And yes, I have worked many soul crushing jobs…

THE NIGHT OF A THOUSAND TUESDAYS

I ain’t scared of ghosts or witches
Of the latter I’ve known a few
I’m not scared of death or dying
It comes no matter what you do
I no longer root for teenagers
In horror movies on TV
The serial killer in his mask
Is now the only one that speaks to me

I’ve spent too much time in the office
Hearing your senseless voice
It’s the Night of a Thousand Tuesdays
I could kill without remorse

When you’re young and innocent
You fear the monster under the bed
But now if you saw that thing
You’d embrace it and your end

I’ve spent too much time in the office
Hearing your senseless voice
It’s the Night of a Thousand Tuesdays
I could kill without remorse

Busy work and cold calls
Have stolen my youth
Cubicles and their walls
Have blinded me to the truth
The worst is when you pretend
That we’re a family
It’s turning me into an animal
That wants to see you bleed

I’ve spent too much time in the office
Hearing your senseless voice
It’s the Night of a Thousand Tuesdays
I could kill without remorse  

2 thoughts on “The Night of a Thousand Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

