Oregon Founded As Racist Utopia

Oregon Founded as a Racist Utopia

I go on tour a lot to the state of Oregon.  I love traveling there for many reasons.  However, I was just reading this article about how Oregon was founded with extremely racist laws.  I am posting this not to pick on Oregon, but because I think it demonstrates how racially backwards our country has been in the past, even places thought of as somewhat liberal comparitively.  I have been reading a lot about the Civil War lately and nothing should surprise me by now, but this did.  I was under some kind of false assumption, not that that part of the country had no racism, but in the state being that far west, that that level of racism wouldn’t be part of the founding laws of the state.  And we wonder why we still have racial problems…

Leave a Reply

