RIP Lesley Gore

Lesley Gore has passed away.  She was best known for the song It’s My Party, one of those songs that will live as long as people are playing pop music.  You probably don’t even need to know the song to have uttered, or to have heard someone utter, the refrain.  The song came out in 1963, but I even remember it making its way out to high school parties in the 90’s, as I’m sure it still does on occasion now.  It is one of those moments of alchemy in pop music when singer and song are combined to create something greater than either.  Although I’ve always loved 1960’s girl pop songs, and I did like this song, I’d be lying if I said it was one of my personal favorites in the genre.  However, it was always there, and will remain for a good long while, and there is something to be said for that.

Leave a Reply

