Responses to the Iran Deal

A Point-by-Point Response to the Iran Deal’s Critics

What’s In the Iran Deal?

The Single Most Important Question to Ask About the Nuclear Deal With Iran

Why Republicans Are So Mad About Obama’s Nuclear Deal With Iran

I have been reading a lot of articles about the Iran deal this morning.  Over at The Atlantic alone, a magazine that has a reputation for serious writing and features different political stripes, there are four detailed articles that take a number of stances about the deal, though they come down overall on the side of being favorable of the deal, if cautiously so.  Above are links to the four Atlantic articles.  The third, the one that is most skeptical of the deal, is by Jeffrey Goldberg.  I will admit that I am no fan of Goldberg, as I feel he too often totes the Israeli line.  However, I do think he is an intellectual that is at least coming to the table with serious intent.  I find that when trying to parse what is going on, it is best to try and read a bunch of information, weigh out different opinions, and decide for yourself.  It’s always worth reading people that are on the opposite end of an issue, as long as they seem to be coming to the debate honestly.  However, as always, read, weigh the various facts against each other, think, and decide for yourself.  I personally am in favor of the deal at this point as it seems the best option based on what I have read.  If you know history, even presidents that I would not view favorably overall, such as Reagan and Nixon, negotiated with countries that we were at odds with, and ended up with better outcomes than would have been seen with force.  I think today is a day for celebration, if cautiously so.  However, I acknowledge that I am basing this opinion on my world view, along with the various things I have read today and over the last year as this deal was worked on.  Don’t take my word for it.  Get outside of your propaganda zone and do the heavy lifting yourself.

Leave a Reply

